IPB





Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Unable to join server
WarHoof
post Apr 2 2017, 12:06 AM
Post #1


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Thank(s): 1
Points: 4
Joined: 1-April 17
Member No.: 5,156




Hi all,

Tried joining the server tonight but was unable to as the game get crashing at the loading screen. Tried joining other servers and everything worked fine, just not able to join the SM server. Was playing on the server last night with no issues.

I didn't get any message saying I had been banned or indicating any other problem, game just hangs and then I get an application has stopped responding message in Windows. Anybody know what might cause this to happen? I tried verifying files in steam, restarting the computer, disabling firewall and changing graphics settings to various presets but with no luck sad.gif

Perhaps I have been banned but don't recall doing or saying anything that might cause this, any help much appreciated.



WH
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to WarHoof For This Useful Post:
doreanh
MonkeyFiend
post Apr 3 2017, 10:13 AM
Post #2


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,347
Thank(s): 550
Points: 2,100
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




Hi - the server has recently been restarted. Are you still having these issues when joining?


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WarHoof
post Apr 3 2017, 11:10 AM
Post #3


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Thank(s): 1
Points: 4
Joined: 1-April 17
Member No.: 5,156




Hi MF,

Just tried but still getting the same thing. Yesterday I tried reinstalling the game and Steam and after a number of reinstalls I was able to join the server and play but when I left I was unable to join again. Very strange and as I say, only happens with the SM server.

Looking in my event viewer I see the following error after the game crashes...

Faulting application name: CMW.exe, version: 1.0.10246.0, time stamp: 0x585b1405
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.3.9600.18340, time stamp: 0x57366075
Exception code: 0x00000001
Fault offset: 0x0000000000008a5c
Faulting process ID: 0x1c7c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2ac68cbcc803b
Faulting application path: G:\Gaming\Library\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\chivalrymedievalwarfare\Binaries\Win64\CMW.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report ID: 53555519-185c-11e7-825c-2c27d7eff462
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I have googled this and it suggested clearing the config out of my user profile but I tried this without success, also tried creating a second user profile on my machine but got the same problem. Only a full reinstall did the job but only after about 10 attempts and only worked for a single session. Kinda baffled by it tbh, thanks for trying to help out tho, much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WarHoof
post Apr 3 2017, 12:03 PM
Post #4


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Thank(s): 1
Points: 4
Joined: 1-April 17
Member No.: 5,156




Quick update...

I tried deleting my profile in the User directory again and was able to connect to the server, left and then tried to rejoin and got the same problem. Repeated this whole process again but this time it didn't work, tried 3 or 4 times with no success so its pretty intermittent.

One thing I noticed, yesterday when I was able to join my rank had gone from 52 down to 46, today when I joined it had gone down to rank 0 (game is trolling me biggrin.gif) but this might be linked to me keep deleting my profile. I don't think its a problem with your server in the traditional sense but completely stumped by it tbh, strange that repeating the same procedure may or may not work and usually doesn't. Perhaps it only works on the profile delete the 1st time after the system is started and something gets cached.

Given two other ppl have reported similar problems, I wonder if a Window update or McAfee update has introduced some issue. Everything was fine up until either Thursday or Friday night and then failure since then, I haven't changed anything on the computer in that time and the only other game I've played in that time is Hitman Go.

Sorry for rambling on but wanted to show I have tried to resolve things on my own and wasn't just throwing the problem at you. I don't really expect theres much you guys can do and tbh wouldn't expect you to waste your time, I'm sure you have enough to do. But the info might be useful to anyone else getting the same problems.

WH
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyFiend
post Apr 3 2017, 02:52 PM
Post #5


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,347
Thank(s): 550
Points: 2,100
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




kernelbase crash is a pretty generic app crash - tend to get this if you close the message of the day window before it finishes loading then switch to spectate. Also linked to bugs with the 64 bit version on certain maps. Can you try launching the game as 32 bit instead and see if it does the same?


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Malefic Trou...
post Apr 3 2017, 04:05 PM
Post #6


Knight Errant
*******

Group: Veteran SM Members
Posts: 547
Thank(s): 232
Points: 547
Joined: 11-December 14
Member No.: 4,549




I can just say that I and several other players (including Monseigneur) are having similar issues recently, it seems to have started at most a few days ago. Monseigneur couldn't join at all now but for me it's weird, I'm able to join on my every second attempt, but it always crashes during my first try :<


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WarHoof
post Apr 3 2017, 07:47 PM
Post #7


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 4
Thank(s): 1
Points: 4
Joined: 1-April 17
Member No.: 5,156




QUOTE (MonkeyFiend @ Apr 3 2017, 02:52 PM) *
kernelbase crash is a pretty generic app crash - tend to get this if you close the message of the day window before it finishes loading then switch to spectate. Also linked to bugs with the 64 bit version on certain maps. Can you try launching the game as 32 bit instead and see if it does the same?


Hi MF,

I have been trying both the 32-bit and 64-bit version, mainly the 64-bit but all the times I tried the 32-bit it has ended with the same problem. I've even tried adding the dx11 tag in launch options but again, same problem.

Server is currently full making testing difficult but I'll try doing more extensive tests on the 32-bit later tonight when its not so busy.


**edit to add : The only thing I'm aware of being different on the SM server from other servers is the window on startup showing the server rules which I assume is an HTML request, perhaps to a different server/ip address. Perhaps this is timing out or something like that? Admittedly I might be clutching at straws on that one.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doreanh
post Apr 3 2017, 08:41 PM
Post #8


Page
**

Group: =SM= Chivalry Group
Posts: 73
Thank(s): 15
Points: 73
Joined: 27-November 16
From: glasgow
Member No.: 5,074




I still faces the same trouble And only crash for SM


--------------------
magic
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sir Robin (not s...
post Apr 4 2017, 01:47 PM
Post #9


Sergeant
*****

Group: =SM= Chivalry Group
Posts: 254
Thank(s): 126
Points: 254
Joined: 9-March 16
From: Bulgaria
Member No.: 4,846




Chiv crashes for me on the first attempt to join, but works on the second one (like for Trout). I just want to add that on Linux I'm able to join on first attempt.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyFiend
post Apr 4 2017, 03:38 PM
Post #10


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,347
Thank(s): 550
Points: 2,100
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




QUOTE (WarHoof @ Apr 3 2017, 07:47 PM) *
Hi MF,

I have been trying both the 32-bit and 64-bit version, mainly the 64-bit but all the times I tried the 32-bit it has ended with the same problem. I've even tried adding the dx11 tag in launch options but again, same problem.

Server is currently full making testing difficult but I'll try doing more extensive tests on the 32-bit later tonight when its not so busy.


**edit to add : The only thing I'm aware of being different on the SM server from other servers is the window on startup showing the server rules which I assume is an HTML request, perhaps to a different server/ip address. Perhaps this is timing out or something like that? Admittedly I might be clutching at straws on that one.


Is is a request to a html page (which is basic img src= then the image) it lives here: http://sneakymonkeys.com/chivmotd/motd.htm
However official servers also have a similar image link to an external server, so would be surprised if it caused problems


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rotor
post Apr 4 2017, 04:40 PM
Post #11


Page
**

Group: =SM= Chivalry Group
Posts: 69
Thank(s): 11
Points: 69
Joined: 14-July 15
Member No.: 4,688




hiya went through the same thing but next day i could connect to sneaky monkeys server.

it's probably something with the system settings of your machine, maybe system update?

A friend tried playing it on linux and had succes, but can only play on SM - Star Wars server on usual system.

Maybe it's something with the external page the banner for 64p server links to?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyFiend
post Apr 5 2017, 08:38 AM
Post #12


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,347
Thank(s): 550
Points: 2,100
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




Still haven't seen anything that would cause this - all the official servers use an external page splash screen.

One thing to note: reinstalling the game doesn't reinstall the user settings - it clears all the game files, handy with corruption etc., but the files that sit in my documents/my games/chivalry aren't typically removed. Might be worth renaming this folder, start the game (it'll recreate the folder) and try again.

Also if you attempt to join the server via the steam server browser (open steam, open a window like library, err in one of the menus there's something that says "servers" select this, filter for chivalry and sort by number of players (;D) and try and join this way.

The server is populated at the moment, if there's still problems I'll create a new image of the server tonight and rebuild it tomorrow morning from scratch - pretty much rules out any odd server side settings in that way. If needed, expect downtime of around an hour tomorrow ~9am BST.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MonkeyFiend For This Useful Post:
hardworkingcrackwhore, Jairon, The Malefic Trout
Jairon
post Apr 6 2017, 11:02 AM
Post #13


Peasant
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Thank(s): 22
Points: 20
Joined: 5-September 15
Member No.: 4,723




I've just tried to join the server twice and both times i joined successfully at the first attempt, so whatever you've done ,MF, seems to have worked!

So.....




happy.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jairon For This Useful Post:
hardworkingcrackwhore, The Malefic Trout

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 07:04 AM
Sneaky Monkeys Clan :: MonkeyFiend.com