IPB





Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't join the server!
giantenemylobste...
post Jan 12 2017, 03:25 PM
Post #1


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Thank(s): 0
Points: 2
Joined: 6-October 16
From: Italy
Member No.: 5,027




Hello everybody!
I used to play quite a lot on this server, but lately I can no longer find it in the server list. I even tried to join by selecting view > servers > etc. from Steam, but the game crashes every time.
I've also noticed that my server list seems shorter than it used to be (I can't see NA servers, for istance).
Maybe somebody around here know how to fix this? I miss this glorious server :C
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyFiend
post Jan 13 2017, 09:18 AM
Post #2


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,627
Thank(s): 1001
Points: 2,380
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




There's an issue where servers that you've joined in the past (history) and ones that you've bookmarked are saved in the ini files. The benefit of this is that the game will ping servers that you've previously played on or favourited. The problem with this system is when servers shut down, if there's a list of say 20 servers in the favourites and they're all online then pinging them take less than a second.

If some are offline, the game waits for a response e.g. 2 seconds. If say 10 of the servers are offline it waits for each server and reaches a point where the total time waiting exceeds the time allocated for pinging all servers. So the ones that would actually respond (at the bottom of the list) don't get a chance to.

The easiest fix for this is to wipe the bookmarks/history. Unless you want to do a line by line affair, the simplest way to do this is to open my documents/my games/chivalry/udkgame and rename the config folder. Then relaunch the game, the game will recreate a stock config

Then check if the servers appear.

If all is well you can start copying back any configs that you've tweaked from the directory that you renamed - the ones for graphics and keybinds are most commoon. udksettings.ini etc.,


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MonkeyFiend
post Jan 13 2017, 09:20 AM
Post #3


Security and Projects
**********

Group: Clan Dogsbody
Posts: 4,627
Thank(s): 1001
Points: 2,380
Joined: 31-August 07
From: A Magical Place, with toys in the million, all under one roof
Member No.: 1




Forgot to mention... from the main game window, you can also open the console and type:

open 31.186.251.152:6000

That should connect you straight to the server


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Following 1 Users Say Thank You to MonkeyFiend For This Useful Post:
AsDeR
giantenemylobste...
post Jan 13 2017, 11:50 AM
Post #4


Filthy Peasant


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Thank(s): 0
Points: 2
Joined: 6-October 16
From: Italy
Member No.: 5,027




I'm going to try that as soon as possible. Thank you very much!

EDIT: it worked! Thanks again smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd August 2021 - 05:27 PM
Sneaky Monkeys Clan :: MonkeyFiend.com